Only I Can Be Me's Blog

DIY Wedding?

So for those that don’t know I’m getting married November 10th!!!

I’ve decided today that I will either recreate several wedding and other dresses into my wedding dress or make my own! Yes, I’m serious. It will be rather simple tulle wedding dress. I think I’ll have no problem making the tulle skirt part but want to see if I can find a nice top or an old wedding gown top to use with it.  I really want a one strap (not really sleeve) dress. If my top wasn’t so dang heavy I would just do a strapless top but oh well.

And I’m going to make my flower girl’s tulle dresses and our bouquets too. And possibly the guy’s boutonnieres.

We are on a TIGHT budget of $300 FOR EVERYTHING!!!!  In order of importance… 2 wedding rings, marriage license,invitations, my dress, groom’s tie and button up shirt, 1 bridesmaid’s dress, 1 matron of honor’s dress, 3 flower girl’s dresses,unity candle holder, reception venue, veil , my shoes, bouquets, reception decor.

Our photographer is my friend and doing it as a gift, family is doing the food so that is free.

So far our invitations were $18. Somehow I put the wrong year on them but we decided we weren’t spending even another $18 for new ones and just told everyone about the oversight.

Veil: $5 (I LOVE the Salvation Army)

Wedding Rings: Paid for but not giving amount but within the budget.

Marriage Certificate: (not yet purchased) $26.

I know many people will think I can’t do it but I know I can. You should see the scoffs I got on Facebook posting a wanted ad for wedding dresses under $80. LOL. One lady said “LOL. Maybe the Salvation Army!” Funny thing is I almost found the perfect dress there for $50 but it was 2 inches too small!!! Here comment sparked something in me….well it was kind of hatred. I commented back how many people had already contacted me about dresses in that price range and how sad it is that some people think they have to spend a fortune for a wedding to mean something. I’m making it my duty to prove that we will have a VERY meaningful wedding that we will remember forever as one of the best days of our lives (not the soap opera) for $300.

I’ll try to keep everyone updated 🙂 Off to buy tulle for .78 a yard!

This entry was published on October 12, 2012 at 10:23 pm. It’s filed under Fashion, Love, Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “DIY Wedding?

  1. Wow! That sounds so exciting I’m really hoping that you add some pictures. I definitely want to see the dress and the wedding. Sounds fabulous. I had a relatively low budget (admittedly not as cost saving as yours) and it was perfect. You definitely don’t need to spend crazy money for one day!

Leave a Reply

